Many misdemeanor marijuana possession under 20 grams cases will start without an arrest. Do not let this fool you. You still need a Palm Beach County possession of marijuana attorney? The federal government classifies marijuana as a schedule 1 controlled substance. A schedule 1 substances has the highest potential for addiction or abuse and no known medical use. The federal government might be the only people that classify marijuana among the most addictive substances on earth but if you get caught with marijuana the federal government’s war on drugs will be declared on you.
Not only will the federal government be declaring war against you for Palm Beach County marijuana possession. Florida will also wage a war against you. At this point Florida has not legalized marijuana. Even if marijuana is legalized for medical purposes it will have restrictions. Florida has laws in place to suspend your driver’s license for two years if adjudicated guilty for a drug offense including misdemeanor marijuana possession. The maximum penalties for a possession under 20 case include: 364 days in jail, 12 months of probation or any combination of jail or probation for less than a year, $1,000 fine, court costs, cost of prosecution, cost of investigation, classes, drug tests and community service. This is for a Palm Beach County misdemeanor marijuana case. When you combine the federal and state sanctions for a Palm Beach County possession of marijuana charge your ability to drive, go to school with federal financial aid, receive housing assistance all depend on the result of your case.
A withhold of adjudication will avoid some of the state sanctions but not the federal restrictions on student loans and housing assistance. If you are not a United States citizen being caught once with over 30 grams of marijuana or twice of any amount can classify you as an aggravated felon. As an aggravated felon you would be subject to deportation. Conviction of a felony drug possession can eliminate your right to vote and right to possess a firearm.
Palm Beach County possession of marijuana attorney Jesse Cohen understands how to defend these cases. He understands that when the prosecutor feels like they might not be able to prove the case they will be more likely to negotiate a favorable resolution. An illegal stop can cause major problems for the prosecution. If the accused is held for longer than necessary the search might not be valid. If the stop and search is valid the state must prove dominion and control and knowledge. These arguments are fact specific but depending on the location of the drugs, ownership of the vehicle and parties in the car they could create issues to litigate in your case. The drugs must be properly tested and in felony cases weight can be an issue. This creates numerous areas to challenge in a Palm Beach County marijuana possession case. If your case is dismissed or diverted the federal and state actions against your rights and privileges will be avoided. Your driver’s license will be protected, your eligibility for student aid and housing assistance will be maintained and a criminal record would be avoided.
The hiring of a Palm Beach County marijuana possession attorney is an important decision. Jesse Cohen is happy to discuss your case in more detail. We have offices in Delray Beach, Orlando, Sanford and Daytona Beach. Jesse Cohen handles all Palm Beach County marijuana possession cases out of the Delray Beach office. If you or someone you know is accused of a misdemeanor marijuana possession under 20 grams contact Jesse Cohen today to set up a free consultation. Call 786-521-2295 for a free consultation to discuss your case in Palm Beach County. We accept all major credit cards, payment plans are available and we accept calls 24 hours a day 7 days a week.