As defense attorneys, we understand how important it is avoid jail, probation, and a criminal record. We know how difficult it is to live in Palm Beach / Boynton Beach, Delray Beach or anywhere in Palm Beach County without a driver’s license, and if you are convicted of reckless driving, you risk losing your driver’s license and receiving probation and jail time, not to mention a drastic increase in your insurance rate for the next three years. Call us now to discuss your case! It’s free. 786-521-2295
We know you want to feel better and you can call now and speak directly to the attorney about your case. You can hire us over the phone and we accept payment over the phone, via wire transfer, or good old hand- to hand cash handshakes.
If you hire us, we can keep you out of at least two court dates, so you can go to work and make money, as opposed to come to court and waste your time and precious vacation days. We can’t save you if you don’t call. Call now, it’s free. 786-521-2295
A Florida reckless driving charge is often overlooked as a traffic ticket. Reckless driving is not an ordinary traffic ticket, it is a CRIME. However it focuses on the intent of the driver and the State has to prove that the driving was Willful and Wanton, and that this "intentionally, knowingly and purposefully" driving with conscious and intentional indifference to the consequences and the knowledge that damages is likely to be done to person or property. W.E.B. v. State, 553 So.2d 323, 326 (Fla. 1st DCA 1989). Thus we defense attorneys can defend against the prosecutor focusing on the driver’s state of mind (very difficult for the prosecutors to prove). Simply driving fast is not sufficient to establish reckless driving. Mere negligence or an accident is sufficient to establish careless driving but not reckless driving. The challenge the prosecutor faces in a reckless driving case is to prove to a jury that the driving in question was willful. Our Palm Beach County reckless driving lawyers have experience defending reckless driving cases throughout Florida. Just because a police officer says that you drove recklessly does not mean they can prove it.
Call us now to discuss your case! It’s free.
Reckless driving is a hybrid misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $500 fine (A second reckless driving can be punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. If the reckless driving results in damage to person or property it can be punished as a first degree misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of 1 year in jail, 1 year probation or any combination of the two and up to a $1,000 fine. If serious bodily injury occurs the case can be charged as a third degree felony with a maximum punishment of 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
In addition to any other penalties if the court has reasonable cause to believe that the use of alcohol, chemical substances or substances controlled under chapter 893 contributed to the reckless driving, the court shall direct the driver to complete a DUI program and substance abuse education course and evaluation with recommended treatment. The DUI program conducting the evaluation can refer the driver to a substance abuse treatment provider for substance abuse evaluation and treatment. If the driver does not complete the treatment the court shall suspend their driver’s license. Being accused of a crime is serious and a Palm Beach County reckless driving ticket can result in jail or probation with substantial conditions.
If you are accused of reckless driving in Belle Glade, Boca Raton, Boynton Beach, Delray Beach, Greenacres, Jupiter, Lake Park, Lake Worth, North Palm Beach, Palm Beach, Palm Beach Gardens, Palm Springs, Riviera Beach, Royal Palm Beach, Wellington, West Palm Beach or the surrounding areas call Palm Beach County reckless driving attorney Jesse Cohen today at (786)-521-2295 to set up a free consultation.